International Women’s Day, Faculty of Science Photography Competition


You may have seen this photograph of a microscopy on my blog from late last year, well I entered it into our departmental photography competition and came joint third! It was a great result overall in anticipation of International Women’s day next week, with three of the four winners being female students.

I heard about the competition in “Scientific Creativity”and thought that my photographs from my laboratory work might come in useful. I chose to use this image of plant vascular tissue through a microscope as I thought that the structures looked rather abstract and artistic. The piece sums me up really, it manages to blend my two fields of science and art perfectly- it seems the judges agreed!

12784381_10207768844051594_1045916322_n

2 thoughts on “International Women’s Day, Faculty of Science Photography Competition

Leave a Reply

