Throwback Thursday- The Elements


So a few days ago I was tidying my room (shocker) and I decided it was time to go through all the things I’d kept from school that I thought I’d need and do a bit of a clear out. The French and maths books were first to go.

Elements Full Length

I ended up finding loads of poster tubes with my GCSE art work in. This piece is one that I can’t believe I forgot about- bearing in mind the amount of hours- let alone blood, sweat and tears- that went into it.

It’s a mixed media piece using chalk pastel and watercolour pencil, I’m not totally sure how tall it actually is, but it’s over 6″2″! This was the time when I did a project on the elements and I was really interested in their personification. My friends and I had always said that we kind of had personalities that fit each element so I had the bright idea of doing a large piece based on that theme.

The amount of reference material I had for this project is insane (you try drawing fire with chalk pastels when you’re 14!). Well the size of this piece was insane anyway bearing in mind by that point the largest scale I’d worked on was A2… This meant it wasn’t very travel friendly so I had to tape it to a table and keep coming back to it, the only table big enough was my mum’s dining room table and I don’t think she was totally thrilled at the time!

I would loveĀ to do some more pieces like this, I’ve really missed taking the time to do large detailed pieces, especially when I haven’t done much figurative work recently.

Hopefully I’ll combat this artist block, but if you fancy giving me some inspiration for a piece, comment!

Leave a Reply

