Flower Fairy Sculpture- First Clay Attempt


When I was younger I love the Flower Fairy books by Cicely Mary Barker so I wanted to incorporate this into my plants project. My initial inspiration for bringing flower fairies into my work was the popularity of flower symbolism in the Victorian era. Flower symbolism also features in the work of many Pre- Raphaelite painters, especially John William Waterhouse in pieces such as Ophelia. His work was also inspired  by myths and folklore such as Arthurian Legend and mermaids, which drew me to create a flower fairy piece. I chose to use clay as I wanted to experiment using a new medium and I loved the fairy sculptures in my friend’s house! I think I probably should have tried to create this on a larger scale as I struggled trying to create the delicate limbs and sculpting the face. Next time I will try to make it more detailed.

Leave a Reply

